Board of Trustees

FIS is governed by a Board of Trustees, whose responsibility it is to hold the school in trust, taking the necessary steps to ensure that the school’s mission is fulfilled now and in the future. The Board helps provide strategic direction, governing through policy and monitoring overall progress. At all times the Board works to show diversity in discussion but unity in action.

The Board consists of 12 members: six current FIS parents, elected by the parent community; five members from the wider community who are appointed by the Board; and one faculty member elected by the faculty. All members serve a two-year term.

Frankfurt International School's Board Members 2020-2021

James Beaty - Board Chair

Seong-Han Kim - Vice Chair

Karen Claire-Zimmet - Secretary

Erik Svenson - Treasurer

Stephan Falk

Julia Heraeus-Rinnert

Shelly Kelly

Andre Kobelt

Shasha Lepore

Michael McDowell

Kate Sawyer

Carolyn Walker

Articles of Association

The legal entity of the school is embodied in the Articles of Association, which are registered with the Amtsgericht Bad Homburg (local district court). Changes in the articles must be approved by the association at a general membership meeting according to legal guidelines and approved by the court before they take effect.

Board Organization

The Board meets at least six times a year and members of the FIS community are encouraged to attend the meetings. The Board also operates through a committee system, with five committees meeting regularly to set annual goals, make policy recommendations, and provide regular reports to the Board.

Primary School
Alfred-Lechler-Str. 10
61440 Oberursel, Germany
+49 (0) 6171-2024-500
Elementary/Upper School
An der Waldlust 15
61440 Oberursel, Germany
+49 (0) 6171-2024-0
Wiesbaden Campus
Rudolf-Dietz-Str. 14
65207 Wiesbaden, Germany
+49 (0) 6127-9940-0
powered by finalsite